University Faculty Council

About Us

The University Faculty Council (UFC) was formed in 2001 by a charter signed by all five schools of Pepperdine University. The purpose of the UFC is to provide a vehicle for collegial discussion and decision-making between Pepperdine University administration and the faculty. Each school has at least one representative on the UFC.

University Faculty Council Charter

View the UFC charter

Council Meeting Agenda and Minutes

View the UFC Agendas & Minutes

Council Membership

  • Bob McQuaid, Associate Professor of Information Systems Technology Management, PGBS (Chair)
  • Mark Chun, Department Chair of Decision Sciences‚ Information Systems‚ and Strategy, and Associate Professor of Information Systems Technology Management, PGBS
  • Chris Doran, Associate Professor of Religion, Religion and Philosophy Division, Seaver College
  • Matt Joyner, Associate Professor of Chemistry, Natural Science Division, Seaver College
  • Veronica Kuhn, Professor of Education, GSEP
  • Dennis Lowe, Professor and M. Norvel and Helen Young Endowed Chair in Family Life, GSEP
  • Ted McAllister, Edward L. Gaylord Chair, SPP 
  • Shelley Saxer, Professor of Law, CSOL
  • Mark Scarberry, Professor of Law, CSOL
  • Jennifer Smith, Associate Professor of English, Humanities/ Teacher Education Division, Seaver College
  • Hollace Starr, Assistant Professor of Theatre, Fine Arts Division, Seaver College
  • Lee Kats, Vice Provost, Vice Provost for Research and Strategic Initiatives and Professor of Biology/Frank R. Seaver Chair in Natural Science, Natural Science Division, Seaver College
  • Rick Marrs, Provost 
  • James Gash, President