Facebook pixel Secure Sync FAQ | Pepperdine University | Pepperdine Community

Secure Sync FAQ

<<back to Secure Sync homepage

Frequently Asked Questions: Secure Sync

  1. What is Secure Sync?
  2. Why is Pepperdine offering Secure Sync?
  3. Who is eligible for Secure Sync?
  4. Who is Accellion? What is Kitedrive and Workspaces?
  5. Does Secure Sync run on Macs?
  6. How do I get access?
  7. How much does it cost?
  8. How much space do we get with Secure Sync?
  9. How do I install Secure Sync?
  10. How do I Sync my files?
  11. What if I accidentally delete a file?
  12. Does Secure Sync do versioning, how do i deal with file conflict?
  13. I receive a notice that Session ended... what should I do?

For help getting started please see the Getting Started guide.

 

1. What is Secure Sync?
Secure Sync is a service that synchronizes files for secure file sharing for workgroups that need to handle restricted information. Secure Sync data stored at Pepperdine is encrypted at rest and in transit.

2. Why is Pepperdine offering Secure Sync?
Pepperdine is proactively seeking to ensure restricted data is secured. Processing restricted information on a Network and/or Google Drive is against Pepperdine's Restricted Information Policy as they are an insecure way to share data. Secure Sync allows for departmental workgroup users with Whole Disk Encryption (WDE) to still collaborate on restricted data while ensuring the data is protected.

3. Who is eligible for Secure Sync?
All users with an S: Drive and a Pepperdine computer using Whole Disk Encryption (WDE) and Secure Cloud Backup are eligible for Secure Sync. Data is synchronized and stored on the device similar to Dropbox or Google Drive, because data is stored on the device it must be encrypted with Whole Disk Encryption (WDE). The device must also have Secure Cloud Backup for added loss prevention of the synchronized data.

4. Who is Accellion? What is Kitedrive and Workspaces?
Accellion is the company that makes Kitedrive, secure online storage, file sharing and collaboration. They also power Pepperdine's Attachments file sending service for emailing large/secure files.

Kitedrive is the software application powering the Secure Sync service. They Secure Sync client software is installed on each device for securely synchronizing data for workgroup file sharing. Additional management access is available thru the Attachments web service's File Manager. Workspaces are Accellion's name for the secure collaboration folders.

5. Does Secure Sync run on Macs?
Yes, the Secure Sync app works on both Windows and Macs.

6. How do I get access?
Access is requested using the same Network Resources Request webform used by S: and U: Drives, in the Comments and Special Needs section. The form's Requester must be the supervisor of the employee the request is for. Your computer will be verified to be encrypted with Whole Disk Encryption (WDE) and have Secure Cloud Backup installed prior to granting access. It may take up to 24 hours after access is granted before the system recognizes the new access rights.

7. How much does it cost?
There is no additional cost over an S: Drive. A departmental S: Drive, which does have a cost, is a requirement.

8. How much space do we get with Secure Sync?
Secure Sync storage is limited to one gigabyte (GB) of data as it is only to be used for Restricted data. A Network or Google Drive is a great place to share Confidential, non-Restricted data. Any request to increase Secure Sync storage space will be investigated by the Information Security Office for approval as no department should be storing that much Restricted data.

9. How do I install Secure Sync?
The Secure Sync app is automatically installed on eligible computers by Device Management. After installation a short initial setup process is required, for more information see Getting Started > Initial Setup of the Secure Sync app.

10. How do I Sync my files?
You may initiate a Sync Now either thru the Kitedrive menu or Preferences window, for more information see Getting Started > Workspace Sync.

11. What if I accidentally delete a file?
Deleted files and folders are recoverable within 60 days of deletion, they are additionally backed up by the Secure Cloud Backup service. For more information on how to recover a deleted file from Secure Sync see Getting Started > Recover Deleted Files.

12. Does Secure Sync do versioning, how do i deal with file conflict?
A maximum of 10 previous file versions with a maximum lifetime of 30 days per version will be stored. File conflicts may occur if another device synchronizes a version of the file newer than the one your device currently has. For more information see Getting Started > Restore Previous Version or Resolve a File Conflict.

13. I receive a notice that Session ended... what should I do?
Sessions last 720 hours after that point you will need to sign-out and sign-in again to begin a new session.