Facebook pixel Secure Sync Getting Started | Pepperdine University | Pepperdine Community

Secure Sync Getting Started

<<back to Secure Sync homepage

Quick Links

 

Initial Setup of the Secure Sync app

Device Management automatically installs the application on eligible computers, computers must first be encrypted with Whole Disk Encryption (WDE) and the Secure Cloud Backup service must be installed for additional data loss protection. This procedure guides you thru first run configuration.

  1. Open Kitedrive

    Windows: From your Desktop, double click the kitedrive shortcut.
    (or from the Start Menu, under All Programs > Accellion)
    kitedrive_win_shortcut

    Mac: From your Applications Folder, double click on the kitedrive app.
    (or search from kitedrive in Spotlight)
    kitedrive_mac_app
  2. Process Setup Wizard

    1. Click on "Get Started".
      kitedrive_get_started
    2. Mac: In the "Service URL" field enter attachments.pepperdine.edu then click Login. (This step is preconfigured for Windows installations.)
      kitedrive_mac_serviceurl
    3. At the Sign In screen, enter your Pepperdine Network ID or e-mail address and password, then click "Login".

      kitedrive_signin
      Windows: if prompted to remember AutoComplete Password, you may click No.

    4. Optional: On the "setup is complete" window, a short tutorial is presented to show you the operation of the kitedrive client. Review if inclined, however you may click on SKIP to complete the setup process.
      kitedrive_setupcomplete

  3. Mac: Additional Configuration

    This is to enable Auto Sync and optionally Start Minimized. This step is preconfigured for Windows installations.

    1. Open the kitedrive menu from the Mac menu bar, then click on "Preferences...". Select the advanced tab.
    2. Optional/Recommended: Check the box for Start Minimized. This will make it so the Preferences window will not open each time the application starts.
      kitedrive_mac_startmin
    3. In the advanced tab, click on "More options...", then check the box next to "Auto syc every 1 Hour". Files in the selected workspaces are synchronized according to the auto sync schedule. Click on OK to save and click Cancel to close the window.
      kitedrive_mac_autosync

Kitedrive menu

You'll find the kitedrive icon in your system tray or menu bar. If it is not in there, kitedrive is not running and you will need to launch the application. From the menu, you can sync, pause/resume sync, open the attachments.pepperdine.edu website, and change preferences.

kitedrive_win_menu          kitedrive_mac_menu

  • Open Sync Folder – Files in the kitedrive sync folder will be synced to the kitedrive workspace on Attachments. Synchronizing the kitedrive sync folder keeps the folder up-to-date with the most recent version of the file. To review file history, open the web interface (see Restore Previous Version below).
  • Open Web Interface – The web interface lets you view your workspaces on attachments.pepperdine.edu. From the web interface you have access to Restore Previous Versions, Recover Deleted Items, and more.
  • Preferences... – Opens the preferences window where you can modify the sync settings.
  • Pause/Resume Sync – Stops or resumes file syncing.
  • Sync Now – On-demand sync synchronizes all files in your shared workspaces in your kitedrive.
  • Send File... – Allows you to quickly choose a file or files to send thru email using Attachments.

 

Workspace Sync

Workspace Sync is on-demand – it is best practice to use SYNC NOW to sync all workspaces prior to editing a file to make sure you are editing the latest version, as well as after editing a file to make sure the latest version is synchronized to Attachments. Or, use Schedule Sync to automatically sync shared workspaces on a recurring basis. During a Sync, status is displayed in the gray area at the bottom of the Preferences window.

Sync Now

To sync files in your shared workspaces, go to the kitedrive menu, and then click Sync Now (see Kitedrive menu above).

Schedule Sync

You may schedule synchronization on a recurring basis. This option is preconfigured for Windows installations to occur every hour. Mac users may enable option. Windows users may also choose to edit this option. See Additional configuration above.

 

Recover Deleted Files

Deleted files and folders are recoverable within 60 days of deletion.

To recover deleted files:

  1. Login to attachments.pepperdine.edu and go to the File Manager tab.
  2. Click the trash icon next to the search box (see image in step 3 below) to Show/Hide Deleted files. Deleted files will be in gray text, files are normally in blue.
  3. Locate the deleted file you wish to recover under your workspaces folder and either check the box or use the down arrow on the file you want to recover and select Recover.

    kitedrive_recover_deleted

 

Restore Previous Version

A maximum of 10 previous file versions with a maximum lifetime of 30 days per version will be stored. Pervious versions beyond that will be deleted automatically.

To restore a previous version:

  1. Login to attachments.pepperdine.edu and go to the File Manager tab.
  2. Locate the file you wish to restore under your workspaces folder. Files with previous versions will have restore arrow after the file size. Either click on restore arrow or use the down arrow select Previous Version.

    kitedrive_restore_version
  3. A Previous Versions window will pop-up. Versions will be listed by date. Choose the version you wish to restore and click on Make Current.

    If you need to check the file contents prior to making it the current version, you may click on the file name to download it. Be sure to only download to a Pepperdine Whole Disk Encrypted (WDE) computer, doing so otherwise is against Pepperdine's Restricted Information policy.
    kitedrive_restore_version2
  4. You may Sync Now on your computer to get the restored version. If prompted with a file conflict window, choose Overwite local file with the latest version from the server.

 

Resolve a File Conflict

File conflicts may occur if another device synchronizes a version of the file newer than the one your device currently has. This is why it is always best to Sync Now before and after working on any file in your workspace.

During a Sync you may be prompted with a file conflict presenting 3 possible actions. It will state the file name and location along with the following choices.

  • Overwrite local file with the latest version from the server
  • Upload local file to the server
  • Suspend sync so you can resolve the conflict

kitedrive_conflict

If you need to investigate the latest version of the file on the server.

  1. From the file conflict prompt, choose "Suspend sync so you can resolve the conflict". You will need to resume the sync when appropriate.
  2. Login to attachments.pepperdine.edu and go to the File Manager tab.
  3. Locate the file you wish to investigate under your workspaces folder. Click on the file name to download it so that you can check its contents. Be sure to only download to a Pepperdine Whole Disk Encrypted (WDE) computer, doing so otherwise is against Pepperdine's Restricted Information policy.
  4. Once you've decided the appropriate action, it's recommended to delete the file you've download. Then select Resume Sync from the kitedrive menu and choose the action you've determined.

If you accidentally overwritten the file with an undesired version, you may Restore to a Previous Version.

 

Additional Info

Getting Started Guide - also available under "help" from kitedrive menu.