Moot Court

The Seventeenth Annual Pepperdine University Caruso School of Law National Entertainment Law Moot Court Competition

November 15-16, 2014

Malibu, California


Registration for the Entertainment Competition is officially closed.

Team Briefs

Participating Schools

American University Washington College of Law
Arizona State University/Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law
Baylor Law School
Benjamin Cardozo School of Law
California Western School of Law
Chapman University/Fowler Law School
Florida A&M University College of Law
Fordham University School of Law
UC Hastings College of the Law
John Marshall Law School
Marquette University School of Law
South Texas College of Law
Southern Methodist University/Dedman School of Law
Southwestern School of Law
St. Mary's University, Texas
Texas A&M University School of Law
Texas Tech University School of Law
Thomas Jefferson School of Law
University of Miami
University of Mississippi
University of the Pacific/McGeorge Law School
University of San Diego School of Law
University of South Dakota School of Law
Villanova University School of Law

On behalf
of the Pepperdine University Caruso School of Law Moot Court Board, we would like to invite you to participate in Pepperdine's Seventeenth Annual National Entertainment Law Moot Court Competition to be held at the Law School in Malibu on November 15-16.

Each team, consisting of two or three students, will have the opportunity to argue novel entertainment law issues before some of the best entertainment lawyers in Los Angeles. Each school may enter only one team. In addition, the competition schedule allows the advocates to take advantage of sightseeing in Los Angeles and surrounding areas.

All teams argue three preliminary rounds. Advancement from the preliminary rounds to the elimination rounds is based on the teams' win/loss records, with point differentials used when necessary. Advancement during elimination rounds is single-elimination. A panel of judges will grade all of the briefs, and the average brief grades will count for 40% preliminary rounds, 20% quarter-finals, 10% semi-finals and 0% during the final round.

Registration is from May 12 through August 29. The registration fee is $525.00
and is due by Friday, August 29. The Competition is limited to the first 24 teams who submit the registration form and fee. Register early to confirm your spot.

Download the 2014 Competition Schedule

Competition Registration

Registration May 12-August 29
Problem and Rules Available Friday, September 5
Brief Due (postmarked) Tuesday, October 14
Competition Saturday-Sunday, November 15-16

 We look forward to having you here in Malibu. If you have any questions, please contact the Moot Court Board's administrator, Patty Hayes, by phone: 310/506-4654,
fax: 310/506-7467 or e-mail: or

Tyler Johnson, Chair
National Entertainment Law Moot Court Competition