Skip to main content
Pepperdine | Community

Seaver Research Council

About Membership and Funding

The Seaver Research Council (SRC) is an entity supporting the scholarly and research interests of Seaver's faculty. The membership of the SRC includes one faculty member from each division. Funds for this Council will be derived in part from indirect costs generated from externally funded grant proposals and from funds designated for the Council from within the University. Faculty are encouraged to apply for a SRC Grant to request financial support related to scholarly activities including costs related to publications, supplies, hiring student research assistants, etc.


Proposals that describe projects that are collaborative/interdisciplinary in nature are strongly encouraged. Tenure or tenure-track faculty are encouraged to use the Council support as "seed" money where supported work could potentially provide the framework for a grant proposal to an external agency. SRC Grants typically range from $1,000 to $4,500.


Detailed application guidelines, including a suggested application format, can be found here. The deadline for submitting proposals is January 25, 2024. Proposals should be submitted through the Internal Research Programs - Application Form. Decisions on awards will be made and notification letters sent by April. Funded projects will be expected to complete the Internal Research Report Form by August 15, 2024. Note: Faculty are limited to one submission each fiscal year. If you have questions or concerns, please contact Sevana Hanneyan in the Office of Research, Grants, and Foundation Relations. 

Seaver Research Council Members (2023-2024):

  • Jooho Lee, Business Administration Division
  • Laci Dent, Communication Division
  • Hollace Starr, Fine Arts Division
  • Michael Ditmore, Humanities and Teacher Education Division
  • David Simonowitz, International Studies and Languages Division
  • Jane Ganske, Natural Science Division
  • Ron Highfield, Religion and Philosophy Division
  • Robert Sexton, Social Science Division