Student Life

Graziadio Business School

 

Student Life Council

Applications Are Now Open for the Graziadio Student Life Council!

Student Engagement & Success is now accepting applications for the new Student Life Council (SLC), which is a newly formed Graziadio advisory council. The first active term for the SLC will begin Summer 2019. 

To be considered for SLC membership, please submit the online application. Applications will be received on a rolling basis and considered for membership for either the current or following term, depending on council membership needs. To be considered for Summer 2019 leadership on the SLC, please submit this online application no later than Monday, April 1.

Apply Today!

About the SLC

  • The SLC is an advisory body that provides a representative student voice on matters involving the full-time student experience outside the classroom, including allocation of the PGBS Student Activity Fee and the development and implementation of student-focused programs, initiatives, and services.
  • As stakeholders in their graduate student experience, SLC members develop a significant level of expertise and insight into the administration of PGBS co-curricular programs, processes, and services, and advise PGBS staff and administrators on matters that directly impact the current and future student experience.
  • For more information about the SLC, please visit the Student Life Council Procedures.

SLC Meeting Schedule - Summer 2019

Coming Soon

Student Activity Fee Funding Requests

Registered student organizations and eligible Pepperdine Graziadio Business School (PGBS) departments or entities may request Student Activity Fee Funds for student service/activity-related programs. Budget requests are accepted on a rolling basis for individual events, activities or initiatives that further the engagement, education, and development of the full-time Graziadio student body at large.

The Student Life Council (SLC) is responsible for the allocation of the PGBS Student Activity Fee. The SLC meets on a bi-weekly basis during each academic term to review budget requests received by midnight the day prior to each scheduled meeting. Budget requests received after midnight the day prior to each scheduled meeting will be reviewed at the following scheduled meeting. Therefore, organizations seeking funding are encouraged to plan in advance in order to allow adequate time to receive notice of funding from the SLC prior to planning an event.

Organizations seeking funding must submit one PGBS Student Activity Fee Budget Request form per event, activity or initiative.

Prior to requesting funding, please review the funding eligibility and requirements outlined in the Student Life Council Procedures.

PGBS Student Activity Fee Budget Request Form

Questions?

Contact the Office of Student Engagement and Success.

Student Clubs & Organizations

Our student body is actively involved in a number of student organizations and activities outside the classroom. Any student can start a student organization in their area of interest. Below is a list of current student clubs and organizations that serve to enhance the quality of Graziadio student life and strengthen and build community across academic programs.

How to Join

For more information about leadership opportunities or to learn how to join a student club or organization, please contact the officers for each organization listed below.

Student Organization Handbook

For more information about the governing policies and processes for student organizations, visit the Student Organization Handbook.

HR Club

Purpose

We aim to create an enriching experience for all students by elevating relevant skills for the workplace and creating relationships with HR professionals. 

Officers

President

Katie Dickins, katherine.dickins@pepperdine.edu

Vice President

Amanda Rogers, amanda.l.rogers@pepperdine.edu

Treasurer

WeiWen Chen, weiwen.chen@pepperdine.edu

Staff Advisor

Kenneth Murphy, Director, Career and Professional Development, kenneth.murphy@pepperdine.edu

Constitution

Human Resources Club Constitution

Graziadio Christian Business Society

Purpose

The Graziadio Christian Business Society seeks to provide a community for Christian business students and to demonstrate how Christianity is relevant to the modern business world. The organization partners with other student groups, faculty, and staff to bring business professionals to speak at Pepperdine, to provide access to Christian resources for students, and to participate in activities of interest to Christian students such as discussion groups, fellowship, and service events.

Officers

President

Tyler Kleinert, tyler.kleinert@pepperdine.edu

Staff Advisor

Robert Woodcock, Spiritual Life Officer, robert.woodcock@pepperdine.edu


Analytics and Digital Innovation Club

Purpose

The Analytics and Digital Innovation Club brings students together who have an interest in learning about and pursuing careers in the fields of analytics and digital innovation.

Officers

President

Matthew Kichaven, matthew.kichaven@pepperdine.edu

Vice President

Jeongmin Kim, jeongmin.kim@pepperdine.edu

Treasurer

Weida Li, weida.li@pepperdine.edu

Faculty Advisor

Samuel Seaman, samuel.seaman@pepperdine

Constitution

Analytics and Digital Innovation Club Constitution

Asian Business Club

Purpose

The purpose of the Asian Business Club is to build a bridge for students and alumni who are interested in Asian-related business to network, collaborate, and share resources. The purpose of the Asian Business Club is to build a bridge for students and alumni who are interested in Asian-related business to network, collaborate, and share resources.

Officers

President

Olivia Bao, olivia.bao@pepperdine.edu

Vice President

Utkarsh Ambade, utkarsh.ambade@pepperdine.edu

Treasurer

Daniyal Pasha, daniyal.pasha@pepperdine.edu

Staff Advisor

Jonathan Koegler, Senior Career Coach, jonathan.koegler@pepperdine.edu

Constitution

Asian Business Club Constitution

Data Analytics Club

Purpose

The purpose of Data Analytics Club is to build a platform for students and alumni who are interested in data analytics and learning more programming languages to develop their own careers. In today’s rapidly changing digital world, many organizations need data to drive business decisions. The Data Analytics Club assists students to learn Python, R, SQL, and other related languages. Members in the Data Analytics Club can also organize the data science competition in Kaggle and learn to apply problem solving skills in the real world.

Officers

President

Yishuo Dong, yishuo.dong@pepperdine.edu

Vice President

Hsin-Yu Pan, jerry.pan@pepperdine.edu

Treasurer

Mengfan Cheng, mengfan.cheng@pepperdine.edu

Faculty Advisor

Arash Vafanejad, arash.vafanejad@pepperdine.ed

Constitution

Data Analytics Club Constitution

Net Impact

Net Impact logo

Purpose

Net Impact is a global leadership organization committed to nurturing an extensive and influential network of current and future business visionaries who believe in making a profit while affecting a positive social and environmental change. Pepperdine Net Impact Chapter aims to create an added competitive advantage for the students by providing practical tools and knowledge on how to maximize positive business impact. It is a platform for business innovation and unique networking opportunities. Pepperdine Net Impact Chapter hosts renowned speakers, hands-on workshops, networking events, company tours and provides an opportunity to attend the annual National Net Impact Conference. Chapter members closely collaborate with Pepperdine's Certificate in Socially, Environmentally, and Ethically Responsible (SEER) Business Strategy, a nationally renowned program for its robust curriculum and the annual SEER Symposium featuring industry leaders and other executive level speakers.

For more information on Net Impact Central and to see all the benefits of becoming a member, check out www.netimpact.org.

Officers

President

Jennifer Johnson, jennifer.m.johnson@pepperdine.edu

Vice President

Diana Brodskiy, diana.brodskiy@pepperdine.edu

Treasurer

Pushpinder Pabla, pushpinder.pabla@pepperdine.edu 

Faculty Advisor

Robert Bikel, Director SEER Program; Instructor of SEER Management
Social Ethical Environmental Responsibility, robert.bikel@pepperdie.edu

Constitution

Net Impact Constitution

PepperMasters

Purpose

We are a professional networking club that connects students to alumni and recruiters. We also help students to elevate their leadership and interpersonal skills.

Officers

President

Melika Salim Shahshahani, melika.salimshahshahani@pepperdine.edu

Staff Advisor

Sean Kumar, Coach, Career and Professional Development, sean.kumar@pepperdine.edu

Constitution

PepperMasters Constitution

Connect With Us

Website
LinkedIn
Instagram
Member Sign Up Form

Graziadio Student Ambassadors

Purpose

The Graziadio Student Ambassadors (GSA) provides our current student community with an opportunity to become involved in marketing the full-time programs at the Graziadio School. This organization allows the student body to promote our programs by attracting qualified and capable students and as a result, shape the future of the Graziadio School.

These goals are accomplished through hosting on- and off-campus events such as open houses, career fairs, and recruiting panels. Additionally, the GSA hosts prospective students and assists Recruitment and Enrollment Services by sharing their student experience through lunches, on-campus events, and tours.

Officers

President

Karishma Lulla, karishma.lulla@pepperdine.edu

Staff Advisor

Danielle Mastronardi, Senior Advisor, Enrollment Management, danielle.mastronardi@pepperdine.edu

Student Board of Directors

Purpose

The Student Board of Directors (SBOD) is the student government association for the full-time programs at Pepperdine Graziadio Business School. SBOD is the primary association to facilitate all student interests. SBOD additionally assigns students to faculty and administrative committees, hosts top corporate speakers, and plans networking and social events.

Officers

Alex B

Alex Begle
Chairwoman, Student Board of Directors
alex.begle@pepperdine.edu

Alex Begle is a full-time 20 month MBA candidate at Pepperdine Graziadio School of Business. After graduating from Albion College in 2009 with a B.A. in International Relations with an African focus and French minor, Alex dedicated 7 years to global development programs, most notably in Haiti, Morocco, and Kyrgyzstan. She is a lifelong learner committed to finding new strategic approaches to organizational challenges.

James A
James Adcock
Chairman, Student Board of Directors
james.adcock@pepperdine.edu

 

 

 

Staff Advisor

Genesis DeLong, Director, Office of Student Engagement and Support

genesis.delong@pepperdine.edu

Emerging Leaders

Please note: The Emerging Leaders are intended to guide and advise students about the graduate school experience, and should not be considered a source for official University information.

The Emerging Leaders mentorship program is a student-based initiative designed to enhance the overall Pepperdine experience for full-time Graziadio School students. These individuals, who are carefully selected by faculty, work closely with the student recruitment staff and faculty to develop programs and activities designed to assist you, the new students, as you transition into this MBA program. The mentors consist of a number of student club officers (listed below). We are here to assist you with anything from academics (concentrations, workloads) to getting around in LA and introducing you to all that the Graziadio School has to offer.

Contact the Emerging Leaders

For questions, we invite you to contact the Emerging Leaders Co-Presidents, Matthew Kichaven and Jeanette Lee

Meet Your 2018-2019 Mentors 

Felicia PalmerMatthew Kichaven
Co-President
matthew.kichaven@pepperdine.edu

Matthew Kichaven is a full-time MBA student at Pepperdine's Graziadio School of Business and Management. He is concentrating in Applied Analytics. Matthew spent 5 years working in the sports and entertainment industries after receiving his Bachelor of Arts in Creative Writing from the University of Arizona. Matthew is very involved in student life at Pepperdine as President of the Analytics and Digital Innovation Club and Co-President of the Emerging Leaders alongside Jeanette Lee. Outside of his studies, Matthew is passionate about his poodle, fantasy sports, and golf. 

Jeanette

Jeanette J. Lee
Co-President
jeanette.lee@pepperdine.edu

Jeanette Lee is currently a Master of Business Administration student at Pepperdine University Graziadio Business School. She is the President of Emerging Leaders and is a member of Net Impact, Pepperdine Microenterprise Program, and is working towards attaining her SEER Certificate. She was born and raised in San Jose, California, home to many of the world's largest high-tech corporations of Silicon Valley. Her undergraduate degree is a Bachelor of Arts in Communication Studies with a Film Studies minor at Chapman University. After graduating, she moved to Seoul, South Korea to work as a producer in film and television production; her production team oversaw and developed all phases of production, from pre- to post- production. She also served as the company's representative with overseas market buyers, expanding the broadcast media content to a global audience.

OliviaOlivia Bao
olivia.bao@pepperdine.edu

Olivia Bao is currently a MBA student at Pepperdine Graziadio Business School. She received her Bachelor of Business Administration undergraduate degree in Human Resource Management at Shanghai University of International Business and Economics. Post-graduation, she worked in a well-established snack-chain company, Lyfen, as an HR Business Partner for the Supply Chain department. She later joined the executive branch to support the company's CEO, where she learned to assist and manage the day-to-day operations on behalf of her. Throughout the years, she has cultivated managerial, analytical, and problem-solving skills. Olivia is now looking forward to applying her overseas professional experience with her MBA studies, to ultimately, understand and thrive in the U.S. market.

Taylor DickTaylor Dick
taylor.dick@pepperdine.edu

Taylor Dick is a second year MBA candidate at Pepperdine Graziadio Business School. He received his undergraduate education at Elon University in Economics. Prior to starting his MBA, Taylor worked for a radio broadcasting group in North Carolina doing acquisitions. Over the summer he worked at SVN-Real Estate Partners furthering their investment portfolio. In addition to his studies, Taylor is the president of the Finance Club and Director of Finance for the Student Board of Directors.

 

Jordan
Jordan Stack
jordan.stack@pepperdine.edu

 

 

 

Andrew Walton
Andrew Walton
andrew.walton@pepperdine.edu

 

 

 

Chi
Chi Zhang
chi.zhang@pepperdine.edu

 

 

Finance Club

Purpose

The Finance Club effectively supports best for the world leaders who are pursuing careers in finance.

Officers

President

Taylor Dick, taylor.dick@pepperdine.edu

Vice President

Xuwei Huang, xuwei.huang@pepperdine.edu

Treasurer

Daniyal Pasha, daniyal.pasha@pepperdine.edu

Staff Advisor

Sean Kumar, Coach, Career and Professional Development, sean.kumar@pepperdine.edu

Constitution

Finance Club Constitution

Entertainment Media & Sports Society

Purpose

The Entertainment, Media & Sports Society focuses on building strong professional networks and fostering deep industry knowledge to give our members unmatched access to an array of opportunities in all major functional areas of the entertainment, media and sports space.

Officers

President

Delyla Majeedian, delyla.majeedian@pepperdine.edu

Vice President

Diana Brodskiy, diana.brodskiy@pepperdine.edu

Treasurer

Crystal Hernandez, crystal.hernandez@pepperdine.edu

Staff Advisor

Karen Weiss, Director, Employer Relations, Career and Professional Development, karen.weiss@pepperdine.edu

Constitution

Entertainment, Media & Sports Society Constitution

Pepperdine Real Estate Association

Purpose

We are a dynamic and diverse association, passionate about developing our real estate expertise through academic achievement and impactful relationships within the Pepperdine and global real estate communities.

Officers

President

Samira Fatehyar, samira.fatehyar@pepperdine.edu

Vice President

Siqi Tong, siqi.tong@pepperdine.edu

Treasurer

Susannah Beard, susannah.beard@pepperdine.edu

Faculty Advisor

Dongshin Kim, dongshin.kim@pepperdine.edu

Constitution

Pepperdine Real Estate Association Constitution