Skip to main content
Pepperdine | Community

University Diversity Council

About Us

The Pepperdine University Diversity Council (UDC) is a University-wide council composed of faculty, staff, and students who join with senior management in a collaborative effort to create strategic plans and goals for diversity in alignment with our Christian mission and vision. This involves implementing programs that increase and enhance student, faculty, and staff diversity at all levels of the University.

Diversity Statement

Pepperdine is a Christian University fully committed to diversity, equity, and inclusion. Our faith cherishes the sacred dignity of every human being and celebrates diversity as a true representation of God's love and creative expression. We endeavor to build a diverse community that fully engages the transformative educational process across expressions of human difference. Therefore, we strive toward academic excellence and a shared sense of belonging with the understanding that a broad range of diverse perspectives enriches the quality of our learning, scholarship, and leadership.

University Diversity Council Charter

View the UDC council charter.

Council Meeting Agenda and Minutes

View the UDC Agendas & Minutes.

Council Membership

April Akinloye
Assistant Vice President for Community Belonging
Office of Community Belonging

Rebecca Campos
Director, Intercultural Affairs
Student Affairs

Lila Carlsen
Associate Provost
Office of the Provost
Associate Professor of Hispanic Studies
Seaver College

La Shonda Coleman
Associate Dean of Student Affairs
Title IX Coordinator
Student Affairs

Tanya Cooper
Assistant Clinical Professor
Caruso School of Law

Bryant Crubaugh
Co-Chair, Seaver Diversity Council
Assistant Director of Engagement Programs
Seaver College

Jamila Cupid
Assistant Professor of Public Relations
Seaver College

Robert DeMayo
Associate Dean and Professor of Psychology
Graduate School of Education and Psychology

Melissa Espinoza
Assistant Director of Engagement and Programs
School of Public Policy

Nate Ethell
Senior Director of Communications and Brand Development
Integrated Marketing Communications

Jaye Goosby-Smith
Co-Chair, University Diversity Council
Vice President for Community Belonging
Chief Diversity Officer
Office of Community Belonging

Terra Hall
Associate Dean of Student Affairs for 
Diversity and Belonging
Student Affairs

Sandra Harrison
Executive Director
Office of Student Accessibility

Seta Kahjarian
Associate Provost for Institutional Effectiveness and Assessment
Office of Institutional Effectiveness

Bernice Ledbetter
Dean of Student and Alumni Affairs
Graduate School of Education and Psychology 

Eric Leshinsky
Director, Student Veteran Affairs

Valerie Nowacki
Director of Graziadio Talent Management, Student Systems
Graziadio Business School

Chalak Richards
Assistant Dean of Student Life, Diversity, and Belonging
Caruso School of Law

Mark Roosa
Pepperdine Libraries

Elizabeth Smith
Assistant Professor of Communication
Seaver College

Britta Steinbrenner
Chief of Public Safety
Public Safety

Eric Wilson
University Church of Christ

Maria Wright
Director of Talent Management
Graduate School of Education and Psychology