For Expectant Mothers

The first step in planning your maternity leave is to download and review the Maternity Leave Checklist and Maternity Frequently Asked Questions documents.  These documents will assist you in planning and implementing your maternity leave.  In general, there are several leaves to which you may be entitled.

Pre-Partum Pregnancy Disability Leave (PDL/FMLA)

For maternity leave, you are entitled to up to four weeks off of work prior to your due date for a normal delivery.  This period may be greater if certified by your physician. If you do not use this time prior to the birth, the time cannot be added to the end of your maternity/disability leave. This Pregnancy Disability Leave (PDL) in the state of California and Family and Medical Leave (FMLA) under federal leave rules.

Post-Partum Pregnancy Disability Leave (PDL/FMLA)

You are also entitled through the California PDL/FMLA, to take six weeks off after the birth of your baby if it is a vaginal birth. If you have a cesarean section birth (C-Section), you are entitled to take eight weeks off. This period may be greater if certified by your physician.

California Family Rights Act (CFRA)

Upon completion of your pregnancy disability leave (pre-partum and post-partum), you may be entitled to up to 12 weeks of CFRA benefits in order to bond with your newborn. You will need to complete a Family Leave Application with Pepperdine. 

Pay while on Pregnancy Disability Leave/FMLA and State Disability Insurance (SDI)

Disability benefits claims are administered by the state of California through the State Disability Insurance (SDI) program.  You may use any sick or vacation time accrued at the University during the state's seven-day waiting period.  After the waiting period, the state will pay approximately 60-70% of your weekly salary, up to a maximum of $1,375 per week for 2021. The difference (up to 40%) can be covered by your sick, donated sick, or vacation time. If you do not have sick, donated sick or vacation time, you will only receive the 60-70% (or the maximum of $1,375) from the State of California and would be unpaid during the waiting period.  Faculty members will receive salary continuation less any amount of SDI received during the leave.

Pay while on CFRA and Paid Family Leave (PFL)

You may be entitled to eight weeks of paid benefits under California Paid Family Leave (PFL). PFL pays 60-70% of your salary up to a maximum of $1,375 per week. The difference (up to 40%) can be paid by your sick or vacation time. If you do not have sick or vacation time, you will be unpaid by Pepperdine University during your CFRA. A form should be sent to you by the state at the end of your pregnancy disability leave. Faculty members will receive salary continuation less any amount of PFL received during the leave.