Zoom Waiting Room

Illustration of a Zoom Waiting Room at Pepperdine

Part of the Safeguard Your Online Classes and Meetings series.

Overview

As of March 31, 2020, Zoom enabled the Waiting Room feature automatically for all Pepperdine accounts to assist in securing the online meeting space. Zoom Waiting Rooms are an effective strategy to prevent uninvited guests from gaining entry into your Zoom meeting or classroom.

Note: You may need to modify your "Personal Meeting Room" or any pre-existing/recurring meetings created prior to March 31 to begin enjoying this feature. If you also utilize the Zoom Scheduler browser extension for Google Calendar, be sure to modify the settings to meet your needs for Firefox or Chrome.

Instructions

  • To begin managing the waiting room, click "Manage Participants."The Manage Participants button is sandwiched between the Invite and Polling buttons.

 

  • In the "Participants" window, you can either "Admit" or "Remove" participants on a single basis.Each participant in the waiting room can be admitted or removed.

 

  • Alternatively, to admit all participants currently in the waiting room, click "Admit all."Admitting all waiting participants can be done in one click.

 

  • You can also message all users who are currently in the waiting room. To do so, click "Message."The message button is adjacent to the option to Admit all.

 

  • To send an admitted participant back into the waiting room: 1) click the "More" drop-down adjacent to the user, and then: 2) select "Put in waiting room."Click the more drop-down and select the option to place the participant back into the waiting room.

 

Where Can I Find Out More on Waiting Rooms?

Please find additional Zoom documentation on the Waiting Room feature.

 

Are There Additional Training Resources?

Yes!  Please see below: